.

You Pick: Best French Fries in Woonsocket

Whose fries do you crave?

 

We eat a lot of French fries in our lifetime, and after awhile, they all start to taste the same: a little salty, slightly crispy, decent after a dip in Ketchup. But when you're served an extra special platter of fries, you know it. Maybe it's because they're hand-cut or extra crispy. Or it's because they're curly or covered in cracked black pepper. Whatever it is, you know when they stand out because they become more than just a side order. They become the main enjoyment of the meal. 

Everyone has their opinion about who serves up the best local fries. What's yours? Is it chili fries at , fries at , ,

We want to hear your thoughts on which restaurant serves up the best French fries in town.

Vote in our poll below, then share your thoughts in the comments section. If we left your favorite fries joint off the list, note that in the comments as well.

We'll leave the poll up all week then close voting at 9 a.m. Friday. At noon that day, we'll share your top local pick. Then be sure to watch the site over the weekend when we tally up the top votes and announce the fries that got the most rave reviews across all of our Rhode Island sites.

Because this poll is not scientific, it is not the sole consideration in choosing a winner. The winner will be determined by the Patch editor, based on poll results and reviews on Patch Places. Please vote only once per survey, per Patch.

Dean P February 27, 2012 at 12:43 PM
The Castle Lunch isn't in this Poll and i'm not going to Lie so, none of the above !!!
Louis February 27, 2012 at 12:59 PM
McDonalds
Angie Pauline Nicholson Fontaine February 27, 2012 at 01:02 PM
the Castle would have got my vote first had it been listed.
phyllis February 27, 2012 at 01:02 PM
what happened to the Castle? Is it no longer there? Hands down always had the best fries
English first February 27, 2012 at 01:10 PM
castle
Donna Duhamel February 27, 2012 at 01:26 PM
The Castle for me too! They always had the best fries and still are the same today!!!
jde February 27, 2012 at 01:35 PM
the Castle, hands down.
The Chorus February 27, 2012 at 01:59 PM
I like Castle's fries...also like Savini's.
Cathie Kun February 27, 2012 at 02:40 PM
The Castle!
Big Popper February 27, 2012 at 02:55 PM
The Castle, Why not on your list. Someone dropped the ball on this one.
Rick February 27, 2012 at 04:30 PM
Castle all the way..we're putting it on the list..
Growing more concerned by the day! February 27, 2012 at 06:29 PM
Eric....time to reset this survey... Add the Castle... the people have spoken!
tom gingras February 27, 2012 at 06:47 PM
Always The Castle,,, Don't say it's closed............
Rob Borkowski (Editor) February 27, 2012 at 08:55 PM
Castle Luncheonette is added to the poll, by popular demand! They were closed for a few weeks for some renovations, but they re-open Thursday at 11 a.m., just in time for the lenten specials.
English first February 27, 2012 at 09:23 PM
Steve let people just have some fun............................... Post politics on the correct page.
Rob Borkowski (Editor) February 27, 2012 at 09:47 PM
Steve, thanks for the suggestion. We might do something similar in the future, about the biggest financial challenge the city faces. Unfortunately, though, you've violated out Terms of Use: http://woonsocket.patch.com/terms, where we warn people away from using masked profanity. Feel free to re-post your comment without the four letter stand-in. We're happy to hear from the public, even criticism. Just keep it civil.
Steve February 27, 2012 at 09:49 PM
Ok, then, let's have some fun with these polls: a.) Best check cashing location in the city b.) Best second hand mattress business in the city c.) Best pawn shop in the city d.) Best section 8 housing location in the city e.) Most trash covered street in the city f.) Worst pot hole ridden street in the city g.) Darkest street in the city with no street lights h.) Biggest waste of Tax payers money, waste treatment or water treatment projects Let's vote..........
Steve February 27, 2012 at 09:52 PM
How about this for a Poll, rather that these lame polls about where the best mechanic or the best french fries in the city are! What government agency or group is most likely to drive the city of Woonsocket into bankruptcy thus resulting into another round of tax increases and possibly a supplemental tax bill of $300.00 to $400.00 per tax paying household: a.) The City Council of Woonsocket b.) The Mayor of Woonsocket c.) The finance department of Woonsocket d.) The State of Rhode island e.) The WED for their constant budget overruns Let's see how the voting goes on this poll......
Donna lafayette February 27, 2012 at 10:57 PM
I would have to say The Broaster House, hand cut. Delicious!
Still Hope February 27, 2012 at 11:00 PM
Lol@Steve. The funny thing about your poll suggestions is that all those winners surround the Castle Luncheonette.
Growing more concerned by the day! February 27, 2012 at 11:06 PM
Rob, thanks...Your readership appreciates it!
David Bouchard February 28, 2012 at 01:35 AM
Steve is kinda getting to what is on my mind...what's with this "newssite"? Is it being reduced to contstant nonsense polling...fries, mechanics, diners? Where's the news articles? Is nothing happening in Woonsocket, the surrounding area, the state that is worthy of writing about? Is there only this mindless baloney to talk about - it's as stimulating as realityTV.
English first February 28, 2012 at 01:04 PM
I agree with David. If there is nothing going on in Woony, how about Cumberland, Lincoln, North Smithfield? I do think however what Steve is looking for is a good article about one of the unions so he can bash, bash, bash that union or the poor city of Woonsocket. By the way. If you click on Steve's name you can see he does not have one suggestion about how to make Northern Rhode Island a better place to live. Just saying. Enjoy the beautiful sunny weather today. Oh. I love the Castle fries.
Steve February 28, 2012 at 01:51 PM
Just can't say it can you English First? I know it would kill you to say you actually agree with me once. Hah, hah, hah...... And oh, by the way, seeing how you're so interested in my previous posts, check out the ones for reducing the WED's budget. I'll go back through your previous posts and compare ideas ok?
Anonymous February 28, 2012 at 03:18 PM
I'll say Broaster Houses new fries are soooooo delish! I cant stand Ol English and the castle is just a heart attack waiting to happen! Both are actually gross in my opinion! As for Steve...... ahhhhh how nice that Im not the only 1 looking at woonsocket with the Rose Colored glasses removed! People, c'mon....you cant REALLY believe that woonsocket isnt Trash CITY........ And Steve I have 1 to add to your list..... How's this?! The most expensive car in the DHS (welfare) parking lot!! I admit that my children attended HEAD START, because my husband has been out of work (but looking hard) for 2 years! I make under $20k a year and on the verge of my company closing! But pull into that lot at Head Start.... Mercedes, Lincolns, Caddys.... all at least 50k cars and their children are attending Head Start! C'mon now! And look at the ppl at DHS, IPhones, jewels, latest kicks, and my personal fave..... the 7 yr old kid with the iPad! SERIOUSLY?! Thats the problem with Woonsocket! They keep giving $$ to ppl who dont deserve it while the workers get crapped on! Steve, if I wasnt already married...... you'd be my guy! lol
Lillian February 28, 2012 at 05:37 PM
Wow Steve you sure have a lot of time on your hands during the day, hopefully you are not writing all these posts on company time. You seem to be a know it all on everything. Are we a bit angry because you didn't get into city politics like you wanted?
RON March 01, 2012 at 01:58 AM
the best fries are at New York Lunch on Main St. Get them well done. I did that today. Awesome!!!
Growing more concerned by the day! March 02, 2012 at 11:36 AM
I'm glad to see the people of Woonsocket support a true small business who struggled and thrived over the years. This establishment stayed true to their values and community committments. Most of us have childhood memories of the Castles when it was a "carhop"... Remember that they use to trust you with real glass salt & pepper shakers when they brought your meal to your car! Congradulations and best wishes for many more years ahead...continue serving Woonsocket favorites!
Jack VanDelft March 02, 2012 at 02:26 PM
Nobody offers better fries than the Castle - NOBODY!
linda March 05, 2012 at 02:37 PM
i agree the castle has the best fries.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something