.

Reader Says Medical Marijuana Is A Life-saver

Ayotte: Money spent to jail marijuana smokers is wasted.

 

To The Editor:

I feel the state is losing a lot of money putting people in jail for just smoking this stuff (marijuana).  There are people out there who smoke this and go about their daily lives with no problems.  You'd be surprised the people out there who smoke this, they're not all kids and they are from every class, profession, etc.

My problem is this: Medical marijuana.

There are people out there who are so sick, like I was at one time.  I'm doing better now but I still have flare-ups.

There was a time where I couldn't even leave the house.  I was given all kinds of drugs that didn't work, the doctor even had me on steroids for long periods of time.

The drugs that people take today for chronic illnesses: vicodin, oxcontin, dilaudid ALL have side effects and can be addictive.

I've been on these drugs and beleive me, you can't function very well at times and they are addictive.  Thank God I'm not addicted to any of them because for the most part, I suffered with my illness instead of taking the pain pills, but I did take the steroids to get me to my feet again.

I can't believe there are people out there who have NEVER even taken the stuff and they don't want others to take it!

This stuff has no side effects except for munchies, it doesn't make you want to hurt anyone like alcolhol does, it doesn't make you want to speed at 90 miles an hour while you're driving, like alcohol does.  All you want to do is mello out and relax.

How do I know? Because as a young adult, I did it all the time.  I'm not dead, addicted, nor did I ever kill anyone.

Marijuana alone does not hurt anyone and I feel that anyone with a chronic illness should have a right to have whatever it takes to make them feel better.

I went in front of the city council asking for their approval for medical marijuana and Mrs. Vadnais, who is a nurse and has a police officer for a son, didn't want to hear it nor did a doctor who was in the room. Well, excuse me but have either of you been sick enough to want to take your life? I don't think so.

Be that person in pain 24/7 and see if you would rather take a few tokes of something to try and stop the pain or ingest a drug that's gonna give you side effects and make you so drowsy you won't even know if it's day or night.

If any of my friends out there are reading this and feel they are too embarrassed to be a friend of mine now that I've said what I feel, please don't bother with me, you weren't here for me when I was sick and I survived. I surely don't need you now.

I say also, that if the world took a few tokes all at the same time, we would have world peace for at least an hour.

Thank you.

Yvette M Ayotte, Woonsocket, RI

Mugsy June 08, 2012 at 11:51 AM
I would NEVER leave you as a freind for speaking your mind...Anyone who suffers from pain as you do, & I have several friends who suffer daily also, should have a choice to use it or not...Thanks for saying what a lot of people feel but don't want to speak up...
Memere June 08, 2012 at 04:04 PM
I also live with daily pain and take no prescription medication - I have refused it. I only take tylenol or aspirin and live with the discomfort. I'd rather have it that way - at least I don't have to worry about side effects. I would not, at this point of my life, smoke medical marijuana. If smoking cigarettes damages your lungs, wouldn't this damage them as well? I would be too afraid that I would be trading one problem for another. However, If this works for you, great!!!! I wish you well!
Yvette M Ayotte June 08, 2012 at 08:59 PM
Smoking cigarettes is just as bad, Memere. I don't do either at this time but if my condition should worsen, (one bad flare-up would be all it takes) shouldn't I be able to choose my own medication? It's my body.
English first June 09, 2012 at 12:18 AM
I do not understand a comment like this "I also live with daily pain and take no prescription medication". If I were in pain I would thank God that there is something to help me with it. Everyone, luckily, has the right to chose what they do.
Memere June 09, 2012 at 12:20 PM
English first, That is you and this is me - we are all different and make our own choices. I have a background in medicine and know the side effects caused by some of these pain medications.If I can continue to live without them, I will. This is how I choose to live my life and I continue to be very active and continue to work - hopefully for many more years. For those who need medical marijuana, they should be allowed to have it. And I do wish them health and wellness. None of us know the future, and none of us can predict with absolutely certainty what we will have to do in the future.
Memere June 09, 2012 at 12:24 PM
Yvette, In no way was I putting you down. It is your body and you should definitely have the choice of using this or not. I was just saying what my feelings are about this FOR ME. I wish you health!
Yvette M Ayotte June 09, 2012 at 04:35 PM
Memere, I never once thought that you were putting me down, you simply told me your opinion and I'm fine with that. Actually, I expected a lot more comments about how people feel about this subject.
Steve June 09, 2012 at 07:19 PM
Yvette, Memere and English First, three of my favorite posters on the Patch! You guys are what makes this forum interesting every day. As far as the Medical Marijuana is concerned, my opinion is that it's just one more medication that can be prescribed for a number of ailments. I have heard that treating cancer patients is one of the most preferable treatments on a daily basis with little or no side effects. And again, it's just my opinion, that Medical Marijuana definitely has it's place in today's society. Very few side effects, unlike some of the most prescribed prescriptions today. And Memere, Medical Marijuana can also be taken orally in the form of numerous baked goods like cookies, brownies and such, so the smoking aspect of the process is negated. Anyway, just wanted to add my two cents, as I believe that my comments are worth just about that, two cents. Happy Fathers day to all, and god bless the Moms as well for having to put up with all of us Dads!
English first June 09, 2012 at 07:58 PM
I have a friend who has rheumatoid arthritis (over 20 years). She has had knees replaced, hip replaced, all kinds of medical prescriptions,water therapy, acupuncture, and is now only able to get around with a walker of scooter. I wish she would try some medical marijuana. It is worth a try.
Uncle June 10, 2012 at 12:44 AM
My mother died of cancer, and when she was sick the only thing that made it so food would stay down was marijuana. All the legal prescription pills that the dr's gave her did no good. So we support you Yvette! You go girl!
Kevin_Hunt June 10, 2012 at 01:43 AM
Don't smoke medical marijuana, eat it. Simmer an ounce of weed in a mixture of one quart of water and 24 fl. oz of canola oil for two hours. When it cools, strain the weed out with cheesecloth or a coffee filter. Pour the water/oil mix into a mason jar and allow it to separate. Use a turkey baster to remove the top layer of oil. Save the oil, throw out the water. A piece of bread with 2 ml of oil on top is a good starting dose. You should know also that Tylenol can cause bad side effects: "Each year, over-the-counter pain relievers containing acetaminophen are to blame for more than 100,000 calls to poison control, nearly 56,000 emergency room visits, over 26,000 hospitalizations, and more than 450 deaths from liver failure. " Source: http://healthwellnesspost.com/warning-pain-relievers-like-tylenol-can-cause-death.htm
Yvette M Ayotte June 10, 2012 at 10:29 AM
Thank you so much for all the positive comments. I know that some of you are afraid to voice your positive opinions on the subject for fear of being busted. But someone has to speak out for the sick, etc. If only it could be regulated like alcohol, can you imagine the taxes, etc. There will ALWAYS be abuse on everything, but if this society were to see the that it's more than a drug, hemp can be used to make paper, clothers, there's hardly no limits. We could put people back to work, have higher income for our state, etc. but the rich pharmaceutical companies and our leaders who are getting paid by them won't hear it.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something